Bar Committee:

Ethics Advisory Opinions

The Ethics Advisory Opinion Committee (“EAOC”) has authority to issue formal written opinions and letter responses to requests for advisory opinions regarding the ethical propriety of professional or personal conduct of Bar members. Its enabling authority is contained in the Utah State Bar Rules Governing The Ethics Advisory Opinion Committee. Its duties, authority and procedures are specifically set forth in Rules of Procedure of the Ethics Advisory Opinion Committee. Requests for opinions may be made by any person with a significant interest in obtaining an advisory opinion on legal ethics. The procedure for making a request for opinion and the required content of the request is set forth in Section III(a) of the Rules of Procedure of the Ethics Advisory Opinion Committee.

Members of the EAOC

The voting member of the EAOC consist of active members of the Utah State Bar in good standing. The Committee Chair and a member of the State’s judiciary are appointed by the President of the Bar. The remaining voting members are appointed by a selection committee comprised of the Bar President, the Bar Commissioner who serves as a liaison to the Committee and the Committee Chair.

Committee Chair(s):

John A. Snow, Chair
Parsons Behle & Latimer
201 S. Main Street, Suite 1800
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Tel: (801) 536-6772

Sara Bouley, Vice Chair

Commission Liaison: Tyler Young
Staff Liaison: Scotti Hill

Committee Members

Herschel Bullen Diane Akiyama Judge Jennifer Brown Kif Augustine-Adam
Christopher M. Glauser Liisa Hancock Neil Kaplan Kenneth Lougee
Susan Motschiedler Kallie Smith Linda Smith Loren Washburn
John West Commissioner Marian Ito