“By continuing legal education throughout the period of practice of law, attorneys can better fulfill their obligation competently to serve their clients. These rules establish minimum requirements for such continuing legal education and the means by which the requirements shall be enforced.”
Please remember that the MCLE Compliance Fees and Licensing Fees are processed separately.
Due to the ongoing pandemic, the Supreme Court authorized the Board of Continuing Legal Education to suspend the live in-person credit requirement, allowing all required CLE to be fulfilled with online self-study audio or video presentations, webcasts or computer interactive telephonic programs for the compliance reporting period ending June 30, 2022.
Two Year Reporting Period: July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2022 – 24 hours of Utah approved CLE, to include two hours of legal ethics and one hour of professionalism and civility.
Annual Reporting Period: July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2022 – 12 hours of Utah approved CLE, to include one hour of legal ethics and one hour of professionalism and civility.
For a copy of the MCLE rules, please visit https://utahbar.org/mcle. For questions, please email firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 801-531-9077.
Lawyers on active status with a compliance period ending June 30, of a given reporting period are required to complete a minimum of 24 hours of Utah approved CLE, which shall include a minimum of three hours of accredited ethics.
One of the ethics hours shall be in the area of professionalism and civility.
Rules for MCLE are covered in the Supreme Court Rules of Professional Practice Chapter 14 Article 4
By the end of the two-year reporting period, new lawyers must have completed the following CLE requirements.
This report will contain the attendance information that has been received and entered by the MCLE staff.
Once you have the required forms please print them out, fill in the required information, sign the form and send them in to the Utah Sate Bar
A: You may request a transcript online.
A: Attorneys may apply for credit by submitting an individual application. Applications are located on the MCLE Forms page
A: see Rule 14-404.
A: The approval process takes 4-6 weeks, you will receive a notice of decision within that time. If it has been over six weeks feel free to call: 801-297-7034, and we will find out what the delay is.
A: Utah does not allow carry over. All hours must be completed within the two year cycle.
A: If the program has been pre-approved the sponsor will submit your information within 60 days following the event. You may contact the sponsor to make sure they submit your hours. Please note that our records are a starting point; it is your responsibility to keep track of your hours.
A: Attorneys may receive self-study credit by submitting a Form 7.
A: You may find a list of CLE opportunities on the CLE Events Calendar, Section Luncheon Calendar, or the MCLE Master Calendar. You may also take online CLE through the Bar web site (you may take a maximum of 12 hours self-study.)
A: Sponsors may submit an application Form 3 to apply for credit.
645 South 200 East Salt Lake City Ut, 84111
Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
645 South 200 East
Salt Lake City, UT. 84111
Ph: (801) 531-9077
Fx: (801) 531-0660